Mahapola Scholarships, other Scholarships

Mahapola scholarships

Award of Mahapola scholarship is handled by the University Grants Commission. Payment registers of the Mahapola scholarship are prepared by the Mahapola Scholarship Trust Fund. Payment of balance installments, stoppage of installments, and restitution of installments are matters to be decided by the Mahapola Trust Fund. Mahapola scholarship payment will make only to those who are registered in the Universities to follow degree courses. Only ten (10) installments will be paid for an academic year. Dates on which Mahapola scholarship installments are paid will be published on the Students Welfare Division notice board and Faculty notice boards. The students who do not obtain two (02) installments at a stretch, their installment will be stopped.

Conditions of Mahapola Scholarships

Conditions governing the award of Mahapola Scholarship are as follows: In order to be eligible for the Mahapola Scholarship the following conditions should be fulfilled.

  1. Scholarship recipient will receive the monthly installment on the recommendation of the University depending on the progress of the academic activities.
  2. A maximum of 10 installments for an academic year scholarship will be paid for the duration of the course.
  3. In order to be eligible for the receipt of installments students should be engaged in full-time courses and those who do not attend courses will not be eligible to receive monthly installments.
  4. If a student fails to obtain an installment it will be considered as an installment that has been abandoned and such installments will not be paid again.
  5. After accepting the scholarship, it will not be possible to change the course and It will not be possible to receive any other scholarship or bursary.
  6. If a scholarship recipient changes the course, or cease to follow the course or gain employment, such reasons will lead to the cancellation of the scholarship.
  7. If it is necessary to postpone the course, permission should be obtained for this purpose. Permission will be granted for a maximum of one year postponement.
  8. It is necessary to attend lectures, tutorials and practical and if not the payment of installments will be stopped and action will be taken accordingly.
  9. Increase of income as a result of getting employment or engaging in business will also result in discontinuation of payment of installments.
  10. Final decision on scholarships and payment of installment rests with the Mahapola Trust Fund.

  More deitails –

Other scholarships and funds

The university offers more facilities to students with a range of scholarships awarded by the university as well as other institutions. As a result students receive more chances to gain assistance for their studies. Scholarship providers decide the criteria and they equally hold the right for selection.

Scholarships awarded by various institutions
  1. University Grants Commission Scholarships.
    These scholarships will be awarded to eligible students who do not receive Mahapola and other scholarships. Installments will be paid by the University.
  2. Scholarships awarded by the Education Employees Cooperative Thrift and Credit Society Limited: The children of the employees of the society who are selected to Universities will be eligible to receive this scholarship.
  3. Scholarships awarded by the Commercial Bank: Selected students will receive scholarships from the Bank.
  4. Scholarships awarded by the Department of the Public Trustee: Selected students will receive scholarships from the Department.
  5. Scholarships awarded by the Sri Lanka Police Staff Welfare Society under the welfare proposal: The children of the members of the society who are selected to Universities will receive the scholarships.
  6. Scholarships awarded by the Sri Lanka Ports Authority: The children of the employees of the institution who are selected to Universities will be eligible to receive the scholarships.
  7. Scholarships awarded by the Marine Services Private Limited: The children of the employees of the institution who are selected to Universities will be eligible to receive scholarships.
  8. Scholarships awarded by the Sri Lanka Foreign Employment Bureau: the children of the employees of the institution who are selected to Universities will be eligible to receive scholarships.
  9. Scholarships awarded by the Petroleum Corporation.
  10. Rehabilitation of Blind Trust Fund Scholarships.
  11. Scholarships awarded by the Assistance Fund of the University of Sri Jayewardenapura
  12. Jayewardenapura – Canada Alumni Association Scholarships
  13. Scholarships awarded by Raja Jewellers.
  14. Scholarships awarded by the Mitsubisihi Institution.
  15. Scholarships awarded by the Tsunami Sahana Institution.
  16. Scholarships awarded by the Y.M.B.A
  17. Scholarships awarded by CANDELAID Lanka
  18. Scholarships awarded by the Gangarama Temple, Hunupitiya.
  19. Scholarships awarded by other persons and institutions.
Scholarships awarded to students by the University during the period of their study at the University.
Award of these scholarships are dealt by their respective faculties.
  1. Raddelle Sri Pannaloka Scholarship (02 Scholarships, for Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences)
  2. Bellanwila Sri Somaratana Scholarship (02 Scholarships for Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences).
  3. Anulasiri and Aslin Dharmawardena Scholarship (Faculty of Applied Sciences)
  4. Rajakeeya Panditha Baddegama Wimalawansa Scholarship (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences).
  5. Prof. Hema Ellawela Scholarship (02 Scholarship, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences).
  6. Hidramani Memorial Scholarship (Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce).
  7. P.L. Perera Scholarship (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences).
  8. Senaka Bibile Scholarship (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences)
  9. Prize given by Chemical Industries (Colombo) (Faculty of Medical Sciences)
  10. Scholarships awarded by Sri Lanka Medical Association (United Kingdom) (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences).
  11. S.T.Sinnadurai Memorial Scholarship (Faculty of Management Studies & Commerce).
  12. A.W.Kaluarachchi Memorial Scholarship (Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences).
  13. W.M.A. Weerakoon Memorial Scholarship (Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce.
  14. Prof. Wimal G. Balagalle Scholarship (Faculty of Flumanities and Social Sciences).
  15. Dr. Srimathie Wewela Scholarship (Faculty of Applied Sciences)
  16. Faculty of Applied Sciences 78 batch scholarship (Faculty of Applied Sciences)

Student relief fund

This programme commenced in the year 2007. The University students who are very poor and who satisfy the requirements are paid scholarships on a priority basis. The students who qualify for these scholarships will be paid a maximum of 10 installments for an academic year. The value of scholarship will be around Rs.2000.00.